Home

Ping hostname Linux

The Linux ping command is a simple utility used to check whether a network is available and if a host is reachable. With this command, you can test if a server is up and running. It also helps with troubleshooting various connectivity issues Ping is one of the most commonly used networking commands in Linux and other operating systems. Ping is mainly used to check if a remote host is reachable or not. The remote host could be a web server, your router or a system on your local network. How does ping work

Linux Ping Command With Examples - phoenixNA

The hostname of my linux machine is 'linux1' and the IP address is 192.168..169. From my windows machine, I can ping the IP address successfully but when I try to ping 'linux1' I get a message: I can ping 'linux1' successfully on the 'linux1' box I am still new to linux and learning. I am able to ping this virtual machine from Mac terminal using the IP address but when I ping the hostname it doesn't work. Below is the output from ping command: [code]# ping 10.211.55.16. PING 10.211.55.16 (10.211.55.16): 56 data bytes ping <ip-adresse> funktioniert, ping hostname nicht Hi, ich habe ein Problemchen, vor dem ich mich vor einigen Monaten schon mal gedrückt habe (damals habe ich dann mein Linux/Windowsnetzwerk vom Router mit statischen ip-tables versorgen lassen) Hallo Ich möchte im LAN von einem Linux Rechner aus einen Windows Rechner pingen. Vom Windows Rechner aus funktioniert der Ping sowohl auf die IP, als auch auf den Hostnamen. Von Linux aus kann.

Linux Ping Command: 7 Practical Example

Can't ping linux machine by hostnam